AVENUE Q

Critics

LemonMeter

Reviews: 0

Audience

LemonMeter

Reviews: 0

Fri May 31, 8:00pm
Sat Jun 01, 8:00pm
Sun Jun 02, 2:00pm
Fri Jun 07, 8:00pm
Sat Jun 08, 8:00pm
Sun Jun 09, 4:00pm
Fri Jun 14, 8:00pm
Sat Jun 15, 8:00pm
Sun Jun 16, 2:00pm
Fri Jun 21, 8:00pm
Sat Jun 22, 8:00pm
Sun Jun 23, 2:00pm
Fri Jun 28, 8:00pm
Sat Jun 29, 8:00pm
Sun Jun 30, 2:00pm
Fri Jul 05, 8:00pm
Sat Jul 06, 8:00pm
Sun Jul 07, 2:00pm

THE GROUP REP Brings AVENUE Q to Lonny Chapman Theatre 5/31

The Group Rep presents AVENUE Q, Music and Lyrics by Robert Lopez and Jeff Marx, Book by Jeff Whitty, based on an original concept by Robert Lopez and Jeff Marx, Orchestrations by Stephen Oremus, directed by Patrick Burke, produced by Drina Durazo and Kevin Hoffman, Jr., Music Direction by Paul Cady, and Choreography by Michele Bernath. The show will run May 31 through July 7 at the Lonny Chapman Theatre in North Hollywood, at the edge of the NoHo Theatre and Arts District.
This fresh and unusual Tony-award winning musical is a coming-of-age parable, addressing and satirizing the anxieties associated with entering adulthood. Its characters lament that as children, they were assured by their parents, and by Sesame Street, that they were “extraordinary” and “could do anything”; but as adults, they have discovered, to their surprise, that in the real world their options are limited, and they are actually ordinary like everyone else. This quirky musical ranks 24th on the list of the longest running shows in Broadway history. Avenue Q is notable for the use of puppets, animated by unconcealed puppeteers.

The cast features the talents of Ashkhan Aref, Courtney Bruce, Joey Flint, Hartley Powers,
Kristina Reyes, Harley Walker and Troy Whitaker.

The design and production team includes Puppet Creations by Patrick Burke inspired by the Puppet Designs of Rick Lyon, Chris Winfield (Set Design), Addison Calvin (Lighting Design), Stephanie Colet (Costume Design), Steve Shaw (Sound Design), Patrick Skelton (Assistant Director), J. Christopher Sloan (Properties), Doug Engalla (Photography & Videography), Lisa McGee-Mann (Puppet Wrangler), and Doug Haverty (Graphic Design).

About Show Times and Tickets: May 31 – July 7. Fridays and Saturdays 8:00 pm, Sundays 2:00 pm. Talk backs after matinees June 9 and June 23. Adult themes, language and full puppet nudity. General Admission: $30. Students/Seniors with ID: $25. Groups 10+: $20. For tickets and information: www.thegrouprep.com or (818) 763-5990. Lonny Chapman Theatre, 10900 Burbank Boulevard, North Hollywood 91601.

Leave a comment