Dames at Sea

Critics

LemonMeter

Reviews: 0

Audience

LemonMeter

Reviews: 0

Fri Jun 14, 8:00pm
Sat Jun 15, 8:00pm
Sun Jun 16, 2:30pm
Fri Jun 21, 8:00pm
Sat Jun 22, 8:00pm
Sun Jun 23, 2:30pm
Fri Jun 28, 8:00pm
Sat Jun 29, 8:00pm
Sun Jun 30, 2:30pm
Fri Jul 05, 8:00pm
Sat Jul 06, 8:00pm
Sun Jul 07, 2:30pm
Fri Jul 12, 8:00pm
Sat Jul 13, 8:00pm
Sun Jul 14, 2:30pm
Fri Jul 19, 8:00pm
Sat Jul 20, 8:00pm
Sun Jul 21, 2:30pm

Ruby gets off the bus from Utah with “nothing but tap shoes in her suitcase and a prayer in her heart.” As fate would have it, she is immediately cast in the chorus of a Broadway show. When the theatre is forced to close, Ruby's songwriting sailor boyfriend persuades the Captain of his ship to allow the show to move on deck. Voila! Dames at sea! When the show's lead gets seasick, Ruby may have to go on for her. Will Ruby come back a star? Do you need to ask?

Dames at Sea at once pays affectionate homage to and sends up the optimistic early Broadway musicals of the 30s and 40s. It's filled with songs, tap-dancing and romance from start to finish. It is suitable for general audiences.
Book and lyrics by George Haimsohn and Robin Miller. Music by jim Wise. Directed by Joshua Finkel. Music director: Sean Paxton. Choreography by Jeffrey Scott Parsons.

Leave a comment