Invisible Tango

Critics

LemonMeter

Reviews: 2

Audience

LemonMeter

Reviews: 0

Fri May 24, 8:00pm
Sat May 25, 3:00pm
Sat May 25, 8:00pm
Sun May 26, 2:00pm
Sun May 26, 7:00pm
Tue May 28, 8:00pm
Wed May 29, 8:00pm
Thu May 30, 8:00pm
Fri May 31, 8:00pm
Sat Jun 01, 3:00pm
Sat Jun 01, 8:00pm
Sun Jun 02, 2:00pm
Sun Jun 02, 7:00pm
Tue Jun 04, 8:00pm
Wed Jun 05, 8:00pm
Thu Jun 06, 8:00pm
Fri Jun 07, 8:00pm
Sat Jun 08, 3:00pm
Sat Jun 08, 8:00pm
Sun Jun 09, 2:00pm
Sun Jun 09, 7:00pm
Tue Jun 11, 8:00pm
Wed Jun 12, 8:00pm
Thu Jun 13, 8:00pm
Fri Jun 14, 8:00pm
Sat Jun 15, 3:00pm
Sat Jun 15, 8:00pm
Sun Jun 16, 2:00pm
Sun Jun 16, 7:00pm

Invisible Tango
Created & Performed by Helder Guimarães
Directed by Frank Marshall
Original Music by Moby
Magic sensation Helder Guimarães returns to the Geffen with the world premiere of his one-man show, Invisible Tango. Directed by legendary film producer and director Frank Marshall (Jurassic World, Indiana Jones, Goonies, Back to the Future), Invisible Tango explores the nature of secrets and how far we are willing to go to discover them. In the midst of the information age and our culture of over-sharing, Guimarães challenges our interaction with the unknown and explores how we can embrace the magic of wonder and mystery. Guimarães last amazed and charmed Geffen audiences in the smash hit Nothing to Hide, the two-man magic show that extended four times before transferring to New York.

Leave a comment

Reviews

"Created and performed by Helder Guimaraes, a Portuguese-born magician now residing in L.A., Invisible Tango mixes fabulous card tricks with personal storytelling in a masterful and captivating way. When not gasping with amazement at his legerdemain, the audience sits entranced by his way with words. A small, bespectacled chap with a lively, vibrant personality, Guimaraes knows how to talk to strangers, form a human connection with them, catch them up in his spell."

sweet - Willard Manus - Total Theater - ...read full review


"His card tricks, performed at a table facing out to the audience, reliably astonish. Theatergoers who are asked to remember their chosen cards have the opportunity to shuffle the deck to their utmost satisfaction. What Guimarães does with these cards only a magician of his caliber can explain. The lay crowd, unable to decide whether the magic is a preternatural feat of memory or a comparatively banal sleight of hand, must surrender to amazement."

sweet - Charles McNulty - LA Times - ...read full review


"Created and performed by Helder Guimaraes, a Portuguese-born magician now residing in L.A., Invisible Tango mixes fabulous card tricks with personal storytelling in a masterful and captivating way. When not gasping with amazement at his legerdemain, the audience sits entranced by his way with words. A small, bespectacled chap with a lively, vibrant personality, Guimaraes knows how to talk to strangers, form a human connection with them, catch them up in his spell."

sweet - Willard Manus - Total Theater - ...read full review


"His card tricks, performed at a table facing out to the audience, reliably astonish. Theatergoers who are asked to remember their chosen cards have the opportunity to shuffle the deck to their utmost satisfaction. What Guimarães does with these cards only a magician of his caliber can explain. The lay crowd, unable to decide whether the magic is a preternatural feat of memory or a comparatively banal sleight of hand, must surrender to amazement."

sweet - Charles McNulty - LA Times - ...read full review