Sunday Dinner

Critics

LemonMeter

Reviews: 0

Audience

LemonMeter

Reviews: 0

Fri Jan 17, 7:00pm
Sat Jan 18, 8:00pm
Sun Jan 19, 2:00pm
Thu Jan 23, 8:00pm
Fri Jan 24, 8:00pm
Sat Jan 25, 8:00pm
Sun Jan 26, 2:00pm
Thu Jan 30, 8:00pm
Fri Jan 31, 8:00pm
Sat Feb 01, 8:00pm
Sun Feb 02, 2:00pm
Thu Feb 06, 8:00pm
Fri Feb 07, 8:00pm
Sat Feb 08, 8:00pm
Sun Feb 09, 2:00pm
Thu Feb 13, 8:00pm
Fri Feb 14, 8:00pm
Sat Feb 15, 8:00pm
Sun Feb 16, 2:00pm

Sunday Dinner

Michael Matera, a young priest in the Chicago Archdiocese, returns to his parents’ home in the Bronx after his grandfather dies. The Matera clan is gathering at the family home for Sunday dinner.

Soon after Michael arrives, his retired working-class father Eddie confesses a sin (more like a felony, really) to Michael. It’s a misdeed which could have serious consequences for other members of the family. To Eddie’s dismay, Michael refuses to grant him absolution. There are reasons for this (which won’t be given away here; You’ll have to see the play to find out).

Eddie’s not the only one with secrets. Michael has a few of his own. He’s admitted to himself that he’s gay, but he hasn’t yet come out to his family. Things are about to get more complicated, as Michael’s female ex-lover (who is still interested in him) has also been invited as a guest for Sunday dinner.

Can the Materas withstand the weight of so much sin, secrecy and shame? Would revealing all cleanse the family or destroy it?
Written and directed by Tony Blake.