The Spanish Prayer Book

Critics

LemonMeter

Reviews: 0

Audience

LemonMeter

Reviews: 0

Fri Sep 20, 8:00pm
Sat Sep 21, 8:00pm
Sun Sep 22, 2:00pm
Fri Sep 27, 8:00pm
Sat Sep 28, 8:00pm
Sun Sep 29, 2:00pm
Fri Oct 04, 8:00pm
Sat Oct 05, 8:00pm
Sun Oct 06, 2:00pm
Fri Oct 11, 8:00pm
Sat Oct 12, 8:00pm
Sun Oct 13, 2:00pm
Fri Oct 18, 8:00pm
Sat Oct 19, 8:00pm
Sun Oct 20, 2:00pm
Fri Oct 25, 8:00pm
Sat Oct 26, 8:00pm
Sun Oct 27, 2:00pm
Fri Nov 01, 8:00pm
Sat Nov 02, 8:00pm
Sun Nov 03, 2:00pm
Fri Nov 08, 8:00pm
Sat Nov 09, 8:00pm
Sun Nov 10, 2:00pm

Moral dilemma, historical mystery, and matters of the heart converge when a committed atheist inherits a collection of rare and hauntingly beautiful illustrated Hebrew manuscripts, including a prayer book from fourteenth-century Spain, and discovers that the books, which bear witness to overlapping Jewish and Islamic traditions, were stolen some six-hundred years after their creation from a library in 1940s Berlin. Inspired by true events and a late twentieth-century court case, and using projected images of the books themselves, the play explores the allure of sacred objects, the ethical issues generated by cultural treasures displaced during wartime, and the power of art to forge human connections.