UnRavelled

Critics

LemonMeter

Reviews: 1

Audience

LemonMeter

Reviews: 0

Art, music and science intersect in this new drama by award-winning playwright Jake Broder (Louis & Keely Live at the Sahara), set to receive its virtual premiere sponsored by the Global Brain Health Institute, based at the University of California, San Francisco; and Trinity College Dublin, the University of Dublin, Ireland. Based on true events and incorporating research and interviews conducted by Broder as a Hellman Visiting Artist at UCSF’s Memory and Aging Center, UnRavelled explores the fascinating connection between the work of Canadian painter Anne Adams (1940–2007) and French composer Maurice Ravel (1875–1937), both of whom lived with the same rare brain disease. Two live seminars featuring experts in the field — including Dr. Bruce Miller, who diagnosed Adams — will take place on Thursday, Feb. 25, immediately following the initial 4 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. ET stream; and Wednesday, March 3 immediately following the stream beginning at 9 a.m. PT / 12 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. GMT. Streaming is FREE at www.UnRavelledPlay.com.Thursday, Feb. 25 at 4 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. ET through March 31. Two special live seminars featuring experts in the field — including Dr. Miller — will take place on Thursday, Feb. 25, immediately following the initial 4 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. ET stream; and Wednesday, March 3 immediately following the stream beginning at 9 a.m. PT / 12 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. GMT. Streaming is free at www.UnRavelledPlay.com.

Reviews

We first meet Robert and Anne during an intense Scrabble match, then follow the couple through her decision to stick with painting after nursing their son back to health after his car accident crisis has passed. Nagle and Davenport take us into the lives of the married couple as their marriage begins to suffer as Anne withdraws into her studio to create art as her words begin to fail along with her memory. Between each scene, Dr. Marks shares via a lecture to his students about the progression of Anne’s symptoms, which are then brilliantly portrayed by Davenport, showing us how Anne now sees Ravel’s music, as well as most of the world, in squares of different colors that speak to her soul.

I found myself totally pulled into the characters and their stories, gaining new insight into both his music and her art. Now I need to really listen to “Bolero” in the presence of her canvas to appreciate how each square perfectly reflects the spirit and tone of his beautifully repetitive, iconic piece.

sweet - Shari Barrett - Culver City News - ...read full review


We first meet Robert and Anne during an intense Scrabble match, then follow the couple through her decision to stick with painting after nursing their son back to health after his car accident crisis has passed. Nagle and Davenport take us into the lives of the married couple as their marriage begins to suffer as Anne withdraws into her studio to create art as her words begin to fail along with her memory. Between each scene, Dr. Marks shares via a lecture to his students about the progression of Anne’s symptoms, which are then brilliantly portrayed by Davenport, showing us how Anne now sees Ravel’s music, as well as most of the world, in squares of different colors that speak to her soul.

I found myself totally pulled into the characters and their stories, gaining new insight into both his music and her art. Now I need to really listen to “Bolero” in the presence of her canvas to appreciate how each square perfectly reflects the spirit and tone of his beautifully repetitive, iconic piece.

sweet - Shari Barrett - Culver City News - ...read full review